The short answer
No software exists that walks you through the full certification and enrollment process for a Medicaid-certified behavioral health agency. The available platforms — Behave Health, Qualifacts CareLogic, Netsmart myEvolv — handle billing, electronic health records, and credentialing management after you're already licensed and enrolled. The certification work itself involves navigating state licensure applications, federal enrollment forms for Medicare (CMS-855A and CMS-855B are Medicare enrollment forms, not Medicaid enrollment forms; each state administers its own Medicaid enrollment process with state-specific forms and applications), risk-based screening that includes site visits, and individual payer contracting. Each step involves different agencies, timelines, and requirements that vary significantly by state.
The process in order
Operators report that the work breaks into six phases, with administrative tasks piling up quickly between securing licenses, building a care team, and preparing locations for inspections.
Phase 1: Business formation and planning
Register your business with your Secretary of State and obtain an Employer Identification Number (EIN) from the IRS. Register in your state's online licensing system with your EIN, registered business name exactly as it appears on your Secretary of State filing, and the physical address of your proposed clinic location. Do not use a P.O. box or virtual office address — your state requires the actual treatment facility address.
Clearly define your services and map them to the appropriate license category under your state's regulations. Each designation carries different requirements.
Phase 2: State licensure
This is where state differences matter most. Licensing agencies, requirements, and timelines differ substantially.

California requires a license from the California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) if you're providing specific types of behavioral health services. DHCS serves as the chief regulator for publicly funded behavioral health, administering Medi-Cal and licensing substance use disorder treatment programs. Substance use disorder treatment facilities — residential programs, outpatient rehab, detox centers — must meet rigorous standards under Title 9. The Director, Chief Administrative Officer, or equivalent position must certify that the information submitted is accurate and complete, and this certification must be submitted with supporting documentation as a condition for receiving Medicaid payments.
Texas uses a dual-structure oversight model that separates facility licensing from service authorization and Medicaid participation. The Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) handles licensing for addiction treatment facilities, with all certification rules governed by Chapter 448 Substance Abuse Standard of Care Rules, now located under Texas Administrative Code Title 26, Part 1, Chapter 564. If you operate a chemical dependency treatment facility, you must apply to HHSC for a CDTF license. Texas requires behavioral health professionals to maintain appropriate individual licensure through their respective state boards: Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW), Licensed Professional Counselors (LPC), Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselors (LCDC), psychologists, and physicians.
New York involves two separate regulatory agencies. The first step is submitting a Letter of Intent or Prior Approval Review Application (PAR) to the Office of Mental Health (OMH) or the Office of Addiction Services and Supports (OASAS). This is followed by a detailed Certification Application that must meet the state's Certificate of Need requirements. Certification by OMH is required for all providers of mental health services, and an inspection is required for licensure. Licensure duration is three years. All residential substance use disorder treatment facilities require certification by OASAS depending upon compliance with regulatory standards, and providers must be inspected. OMH maintains current licensure thresholds so Article 28 providers may continue to provide up to 30 percent of their total annual visits for mental health services without obtaining an Article 31 license from OMH. OASAS has implemented a licensure threshold so Article 28 providers may provide up to 30 percent of their total annual visits for addiction services without obtaining an Article 32 certification from OASAS.
Florida does not require a Certificate of Need (CON) for new behavioral health facilities, but all treatment providers must be licensed by the appropriate state agency before operating. F.S. 394.741 provides that accreditation shall be accepted in lieu of the agency's and department's facility licensure onsite review requirements and as a substitute for administrative and program monitoring requirements; accreditation substitutes for inspections but does not eliminate licensure itself. Accredited programs meeting Florida Statute 394.741 criteria are not subject to regular licensure surveys.
Complete your Initial Application Packet including a Facility Information Form with detailed program description, hours of operation, population served, and organizational structure documentation including articles of incorporation, bylaws, and ownership disclosure.
Phase 3: Staffing and clinical infrastructure
The clinical director must be available on-site or on-call during all hours of operation. Your state agency will verify their license status directly with the state Behavioral Health Executive Council or Medical Board during application review.
Operators cite finding the right clinical staff as a first major problem, along with attracting the right target audience with the right marketing mix. Large agencies have shut down locations because they don't have the right marketing engine.
Phase 4: Accreditation (if required or desired)
An organization may request certification by completing an application form. The Department grants a certificate upon receipt of a completed application to an organization which has attained full accreditation from CARF International, The Joint Commission, or Council on Accreditation. If your agency is accredited, complete and submit the application for accredited agencies along with your agency's full accreditation report.
The CARF accreditation process typically takes 6 to 12 months from initial application to survey completion. From decision to accredited status, plan on 6 to 12 months for a new behavioral health program. CARF schedules surveys within 6 months of a complete application and issues accreditation decisions approximately 6 to 8 weeks after the survey. Organizations that rush the process tend to receive more survey findings and lower accreditation outcomes. The six-month conformance requirement effectively sets the floor, and programs that under-resource the preparation phase tend to either delay their survey or absorb avoidable findings.
CARF accreditation costs include a CARF application fee of $995 (non-refundable) and a survey fee of $1,840 per surveyor day for on-site surveys and $1,585 per surveyor day for DESS (digitally enabled site surveys), including all surveyor travel, lodging, and administrative expenses. A single-site outpatient facility total runs approximately $3,000 to $5,000 in direct CARF fees. CARF charges no annual maintenance fees; all accreditation costs are consolidated into triennial application and survey events. Preparation costs — consulting, mock surveys, policy work — typically add $25,000 to $75,000 for an initial survey.
CARF accreditation outcomes fall into three tiers: Three-Year Accreditation is the top tier, awarded to programs in substantial compliance with all standards. One-Year Accreditation means the program meets accreditation but has more recommendations than the three-year threshold, and a re-survey is required in 12 months. Provisional Accreditation indicates significant areas of non-compliance and requires a 6-month follow-up.
Phase 5: Medicare and Medicaid enrollment
Healthcare providers must obtain an NPI prior to enrolling in Medicare or before submitting a change to existing Medicare enrollment information. Online NPI applications typically process within 1-20 business days according to multiple sources, with most within 7-10 days; CMS states providers should allow 15 working days to process NPI applications before contacting the NPI Enumerator. For online applications, NPIs are issued to the email address provided. For paper applications, NPIs are sent by mail.
Next comes the federal enrollment form. The form you use depends on your facility type. Institutional providers must complete the CMS-855A application to enroll in the Medicare program and receive a Medicare billing number. You can apply using the internet-based Provider Enrollment, Chain and Ownership System (PECOS) or the paper CMS-855A enrollment application. Clinics, group practices, and other suppliers must complete the CMS-855B application to enroll in the Medicare program. You can apply using PECOS or the paper CMS-855B enrollment application. Form CMS-855B is for Medicare Enrollment Application for Clinics and Group Practices. Group Practices must have two or more physician or non-physician practitioner owners, but this ownership requirement does not apply to a non-profit Group Practice. A non-profit Group Practice will list the name of its board of directors and individual board members.
CMS standards require 95% of clean PECOS applications be processed within 15 calendar days, and 95% of clean paper applications within 30 calendar days; applications requiring site visits or development take 50-85 days via PECOS or 65-100 days via paper. Colorado Medicaid takes 60 to 90 days depending on provider type and HCPF processing volume. Montana Medicaid takes 60 to 90 days depending on provider type and DPHHS processing volume. There is no known federal or state requirement for the timely processing of Medicaid provider enrollment, though CMS recommends 60 days as a best practice.
The state Medicaid agency verifies provider licenses with state boards, runs OIG LEIE exclusion checks, runs SAM.gov sanctions checks, and queries federal databases including NPDB. Limited risk screening typically completes within 30 to 45 days. Home health agencies, outpatient therapy clinics, hospice providers, behavioral health agencies, and ambulatory surgical centers typically face Moderate risk screening. Unannounced site visits add 14 to 45 days to the timeline.
All OMH and OASAS licensed, certified, designated, and approved providers must be enrolled as a Medicaid provider agency to bill and be reimbursed for services. Provider agencies that have not yet enrolled with Medicaid should follow the process outlined at eMedNY Provider Enrollment and Maintenance. In Texas, use TMHP's Provider Enrollment and Management System (PEMS) to enroll and manage your participation.
Phase 6: Payer contracting
Establishing contracts with insurance payers is one of the most critical yet time-consuming steps. Without strong payer agreements, new facilities struggle with slow reimbursements, unclear billing rules, and compliance issues. Payer contracts are the foundation of financial stability. They determine how you will get paid, at what rates, and under what conditions. Negotiating these agreements without guidance can lead to unfavorable terms.
Common struggles include unclear reimbursement terms leading to unexpected payment shortfalls, delays in credentialing and contracting that postpone network participation, and errors in contract setup within billing systems resulting in claim denials.
Credentialing timelines for Colorado Medicaid managed care or behavioral health entities run 60 to 120 days from initial application submission. Montana managed care entities take 60 to 120 days from initial application submission. UnitedHealthcare takes approximately 60 to 90 days. Optum Behavioral Health takes 60 to 90 days.
Delays occur most commonly due to incomplete applications, outdated CAQH data, or unresolved primary source verification issues. A provider who completes HCPF enrollment but has not yet completed any required credentialing for managed care or behavioral health entities may face a gap period during which certain claims are denied.
State regulatory comparison
| Element | California | Texas | New York | |---------|-----------|-------|----------| | Licensing Agency | California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) | Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) | Office of Mental Health (OMH) or Office of Addiction Services and Supports (OASAS) | | Certificate of Need | Varies by service type | Does not require CON | State may require Certificate of Need | | License Duration | Not specified | Not specified | Three years | | Accreditation Deemed Status | CARF International, The Joint Commission, or Council on Accreditation | F.S. 394.741 allows accreditation to be deemed compliant | Accreditation is not required | | Medicaid Enrollment System | CMS and DHCS | TMHP's Provider Enrollment and Management System (PEMS) | eMedNY Provider Enrollment & Maintenance | | Staffing Ratios | Not specified | Not specified | Not specified | | Medicaid Structure | County-based Specialty Mental Health Services (SMHS) system; beneficiaries with medical necessity carved out to county Mental Health Plans (MHPs) | Managed by STAR Health, STAR+PLUS, and Texas CHIP through multiple managed care organizations | Behavioral Health Managed Care integrates all behavioral health and physical heath services under Mainstream Medicaid Managed Care Organizations (MCOs) and Health and Recovery Plans (HARP) |
Federal regulations that apply everywhere
Rehabilitative Behavioral Health Services fall under the Rehabilitative Services Option, 42 CFR 440.130(d). All professionals who furnish services under a CMHC must be legally authorized — licensed, certified or registered — in accordance with applicable Federal, State and local laws, and must act only within the scope of their State licenses. All personnel qualifications must be kept current at all times. Personnel qualifications for CMHCs are governed by 42 CFR 485.904; the CFR sections 438.68, 438.206, and 438.207 relate to Medicaid managed care network adequacy and service availability standards, not CMHC personnel qualifications.
State plan CCBHC services include a similar set of substance use and mental health services. To qualify, you must be certified by the State Medicaid agency as meeting the most recent version of the CCBHC Certification Criteria.
What commonly goes wrong
Choosing the wrong CMS form wastes months. Your application will be rejected and you must start over. Use CMS-855A for institutional providers and CMS-855B for clinics, group practices, and other suppliers. Read the instructions carefully before you begin.
Total timeline runs 60 to 120 days for clean files. That assumes your documentation is complete, your CAQH data is current, and primary source verification clears without issues. Most delays stem from incomplete applications, outdated information, or unresolved verification problems.
Using a P.O. box or virtual office address causes immediate rejection. State agencies require the actual treatment facility address where services will be provided.
Credentialing gaps create periods where claims are denied. Completing state Medicaid enrollment does not automatically credential you with managed care organizations or behavioral health entities. You must complete separate credentialing applications for each payer. Until those clear, certain claims will be denied even though you are technically enrolled in Medicaid.
Misunderstanding the clinical director availability requirement. The clinical director must be available on-site or on-call during all hours of operation. State agencies verify license status directly with state boards during application review. A lapsed license or unavailable director stops your application.
Underestimating CARF preparation requirements. CARF recommends at least six months of documented conformance before requesting a survey. Organizations that under-resource this phase either delay their survey or absorb avoidable findings. The survey itself is not the hard part — having your policies, documentation, and operations ready for review is.
Not understanding revalidation deadlines. HHSC recommends that providers submit revalidation applications within 120 days prior to the revalidation due date; the 120-day timeframe applies to the Texas Medicaid provider revalidation process (every 3-5 years), not to facility recertification surveys. Missing this window can create a lapse in your ability to bill.
Timeline summary
- NPI application: Online applications typically process within 1-20 business days, with most within 7-10 days; CMS states providers should allow 15 working days
- PECOS enrollment: 15 calendar days for 95% of clean applications; 50-85 days for applications requiring site visits or development
- Paper Medicare enrollment (via MAC): 30 calendar days for 95% of clean applications; 65-100 days for applications requiring site visits or development
- State Medicaid enrollment: 60 to 90 days
- Limited risk screening: 30 to 45 days
- Moderate risk screening with site visit: Add 14 to 45 days
- Managed care credentialing: 60 to 120 days per payer
- CARF accreditation preparation and survey: 6 to 12 months
- Revalidation materials: Submit within 120 days prior to the revalidation due date
Once you're licensed, enrolled, and contracted, AgenciesForge runs charting, scheduling, EVV, and billing on one record with unlimited clinicians and no per-seat fees.
